FILM: JARV IS… ‘Beyond The Pale… Live from the Centre of the Earth Tour’ (15)

Thursday 19 November, 2020 @ 8:00 pm – 9:30 pm
John Peel Centre
Church Walk
IP14 1ET
Box Office
01449 774678
FILM: JARV IS... 'Beyond The Pale... Live from the Centre of the Earth Tour' (15) @ John Peel Centre

Following the recent Government annoucement that all entertainment venues will need to close from Thursday 5th November until at least 2nd December, this screening will not be shown on the advertised date. You can, however, watch it at home:

Tune in to attend a concert in a cave… in your living room. Stream the video at home on-demand from November 19th – 4th December.

We thank you for your continued support and understanding.

The film represents the only complete live performance of the JARV IS… ‘Beyond The Pale’ album.

Watch the trailer for the LIVE FILM:

Filmed at Peak Cavern in Derbyshire, UK, the filmed performance brings Beyond The Pale full circle, as two of the tracks on the album (“Must I Evolve?” and “Sometimes I am Pharaoh”) were recorded at this very location when JARV IS… performed here in 2018. The performance was filmed and directed by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard, known for their work on Nick Cave’s film 20,000 Days on Earth.

 “Beyond the Pale was written (& partially recorded) in front of a live audience, so it feels extra-strange not to be able to take it on the road at the moment,” Jarvis Cocker explains. “Fortunately, our friends Iain & Jane suggested a way round the problem: set up our equipment in a cave & they would film the results. We have invented a new way of playing a concert.”

Beyond the Pale by JARV IS… was the first original music from Jarvis Cocker since 2009’s Further Complications. It has been globally hailed as an instant classic, with praise stretching from The New York Times to NME, Rolling Stone to Le Monde. It is available on LP/CD/Cassette.

JARV IS… a band featuring Jarvis Cocker (vocals, guitar, percussion), Serafina Steer (harp, keyboards, vocals), Emma Smith (violin, guitar vocals), Andrew McKinney (bass, vocals), Jason Buckle (synthesizer & electronic treatments) & Adam Betts (drums, percussion, vocals).

***** – The Arts Desk; The I; Daily Telegraph
**** – MOJO; NME

“Album of the Month” – Q; Record Collector
“Album of the Week” – Observer; Stereogum
9/10 – Uncut
“A masterful return for a true pop genius” – Rolling Stone
“Hypnotically danceable” – The New Yorker